Carry-On Mission Trip Packing

packing for haiti

PassportI wanted to do a post on packing because I am always looking up different ways to pack via blogs, so I thought I’d share my own packing list and tips.

This particularly is about packing for a one-week mission trip in Haiti using carry-on bags. I packed two carry-on bags: one small rolling suitcase and one backpack.

The backpack

Inside my backpack I had:

  • Passport
  • Wallet (You know, for the obvious carrying of money and identification.)
  • 2 Bibles (One in English and one in French — only because I rarely get to seriously use the French one.)
  • Folder with a copy of my passport and our itinerary inside (Also good to store other papers/information that you may get on the trip.)
  • Water bottle (32 oz.; similar to a Nalgene, but mine is a cute one from Victoria’s Secret.)
  • Keen shoes (In a shoe bag to help keep dirt from getting all over my bag.)
  • Camera
  • Batteries
  • iPhone (I made sure I had all of my favorite tunes along with a few episodes of Downton Abbey to watch at night.)
  • Headphones
  • Phone Charger
  • Portable charger (This is a life-saver — bring it!)
  • UNO card game
  • Book (For my reading pleasure.)
  • Crossword puzzles
  • Hat
  • Bandanna scarf
  • Gum
  • 3 Boxes of Ziploc sandwich bags (These can be used to pass out supplies/goods. Our team didn’t use them, but I has happy to leave them for others to use.)

The rolling suitcase

Inside my suitcase I packed:

  • 6 T-shirts (Flat packed)
  • 5 Skirts (Flat packed)
  • 1 Undershirt/Tank top
  • 10 pairs of undies (I’m always conscientious about having enough while traveling.)
  • 4 Bras
  • 2 pair of socks
  • Pajamas: Long-sleeved t-shirt and leggings
  • Light jacket (In case of rain or if I got cold on the plane)
  • Swimwear
  • Flip-flops for the shower
  • Shower Caddy
  • 1 Towel and 1 Washcloth (REI Camping/Travel towels that are thin for easy packing and dry quickly. There were towels provided for us, but I kind of like to use my own.)
  • She Butter (Lemongrass scent to help with mosquitoes): Used for lotion, sunscreen and hair moisturizer
  • Doedorant (Regular size)
  • Travel-size baby powder
  • Toothbrush (In a cover, of course.)
  • Shea Moisture Lemongrass Soap bar (Lemongrass scent to help with mosquitoes; this soap is good for the body and the face; in a soap case, of course.)
  • Hairbrush (Tangle Tamer for my natural, kinky tresses.)
  • Headbands and bows (It’s okay to look cute!)
  • Sleeping cap
  • Travel pack of Clorox Wipes
  •  TSA Liquids Baggie: Travel-size OFF Deep Woods bug spray with deet (2), toothpaste, Lysol and wrinkle release; I placed some of my own face moisturizer and peppermint oil (for my hair) that I had into travel containers; After Bite anti-itch cream
  • 2 Twin sheet sets (Each team member brought one sheet set to take to the orphanages. I brought one set to sleep on, but there were clean sheets provided for us. I left my second set there to create more room in my bag for the trip home.)
  • 2 Boxes of gallon-size Ziploc bags (We brought these to use to pass out food during our trip.)
  • Crossbody purse (Great for when I wanted to carry light!)
  • Snacks: 8 packs of Poptarts, 10 packs of fruit snacks, 12 Cliff Bars, butterscotch candy, 2 packs of Nunn electrolyte drink tabs (perfect for when you are tired of water or just need some electrolytes). Only a few snacks remained at the end of the trip, so this helped to save space in my bag on the way home.

Extra notes

On the journey over, I sported a skirt, an under shirt, our team t-shirt and TOMS shoes — comfy/cute travel wear. Also, I wore my bracelets and watch there so I wouldn’t have to pack them.

I, personally, prefer flat packing over rolling packing. In my opinion, flat packing takes up less room, helps your bag to be lighter and helps keep your clothes from getting wrinkled.

I pack my undergarments in a packing cube to help keep things organized in my bag. I’m the type to live out of my suitcase when I travel, so this helps.

Since I didn’t return with everything that I brought over, this left space for a few souvenirs.

I always bring a few plastic bags along to carry wet clothing, wet towels and/or shoes in during the trip home.

I didn’t have to pack everything in a carry-on, but I found it to be easier for this trip as well as for other trips I’ve taken in the past. I also, for some weird reason, am entertained at the thought of trying to figure out how to fit all of my stuff in small luggage, so it’s kind of like a game to me.

Hopefully this is helpful for all of you looking to carry-on.
Happy Travels.

2 thoughts on “Carry-On Mission Trip Packing

Share Your Thoughts